View your shopping cart.

Banner Message

SEARCH OUR INVENTORY OF THOUSANDS OF NEW & USED BOOKS
ALL USED BOOKS IN VERY GOOD TO EXCELLENT CONDITION -- MANY LIKE NEW!

Religion

Butterfly Club: Is That You?

Butterfly Club: Is That You?

$10.00
More Info

The death of a loved one is a tragic event. Yet in our darkest hours, God often provides hope and comfort through the smallest things-like a butterfly.

In the vein of When God Winks and Chicken Soup for the Christian Soul, The Butterfly Club presents real people's stories of how God can, and does, use signs to communicate His presence to those in need. When author Phyllis Calvey heard story after story of how God used the sign of a butterfly to comfort those grieving the loss of a loved one, she set out to gather as many of those stories as she could find. Compiled together, these tales from people who share a common spiritual experience involving a butterfly-The Butterfly Club-answer the age-old question, "Does God speak to us?"

Whether you are grieving, or consoling someone who is, these stories of God's undeniable presence will spark hope and dispel the difference between a mere coincidence and a genuine sign from God.

By Divine Design (USED)

By Divine Design (USED)

$4.99
More Info
BettyClare Moffatt shows readers how to discover abundance, peace, wisdom health, and love...by awakening the twelve energy centers from within, and connecting to the divine power of God. Drawn from Christian tradition, these energy fields, which range from love to faith to will, possess enormous power When stimulated, they release a burst of energy that can help restore both physical and emotional health.

Easy step-by-step daily practices which can be used as solitary meditation or as part of a prayer group, support group, or workshop, guide readers on their way to transformation. One insight at a time, one change at a time, readers will find an infinite source of inner strength and joy, vividly experience their link with God, and "By Divine Design", become the spiritual selves they've always longed to be.

Can You Drink the Cup (USED)

Can You Drink the Cup (USED)

$3.99
More Info
Using the cup as a metaphor, Nouwen reflects on three images--Holding, Lifting, and Drinking--to articulate basics of the spiritual life. Nouwen draws stories from his own life and ministry to illustrate his main themes.

Catechism of Catholic Christian Doctrine (USED)

$25.00
More Info
Catholic Schools and the Common good (USED)

Catholic Schools and the Common good (USED)

$6.99
More Info
The authors examine a broad range of Catholic high schools to determine whether or not students are better educated in these schools than they are in public schools. They find that the Catholic schools do have an independent effect on achievement, especially in reducing disparities between disadvantaged and privileged students. The Catholic school of today, they show, is informed by a vision, similar to that of John Dewey, of the school as a community committed to democratic education and the common good of all students.

Catholicism and Society (USED)

$7.99
More Info
Starting with the importance of the Beatitudes in living out our call to holiness, Catholicism and Society offers valuable insights and sound advice on the role of marriage and family in building a good and just society. The book discusses the purposes of marriage, the interplay of husbands and wives and parents and children, how to raise teenagers, and how to combat the anti-family evils of contraception, abortion, and euthanasia. Catholicism and Society also applies Christian moral principles to the role of women in society, the treatment of the elderly, racial discrimination, morality in public life, cults and the New Age Movement, and the ever-present threat of atheism.
Catholicism in Rhode Island & the Diocese of Providence 1921-1948 V3

Catholicism in Rhode Island & the Diocese of Providence 1921-1948 V3

$40.00
More Info

Volume Three of Robert W. Hayman's panoramic Catholicism in Rhode Island and the Diocese of Providence covers the rise of Catholic educational and social welfare institutions; the charity drives begun by Bishop Hickey; the growth of new parishes and missions; the Church's efforts to relieve suffering during the Great Depression; its role on the homefront in Word War II; its relation to the labor movement; the Rose Ferron phenomenon; morality campaigns; friction between church and state; and, most vividly, the protracted conflict between Bishop Hickey and the Sentinellists, whose militant drive for autonomy in their French-speaking parishes went all the way to Rome. Extending through the administration of the much-loved Bishop Keough, this volume presents a comprehensive view of the many facets of the Church's activities in the life of Rhode Island during the first half of the twentieth century.

Catholicism in Rhode Island and the Diocese of Providence Volume I (no dust jacket)

$10.00
More Info

Catholicism in Rhode Island and the Diocese of Providence Volume II

$15.00
More Info

Catholics Remember the Holocaust (USED)

$3.99
More Info
Centering on the Vatican statement We Remember: A Reflection on the Shoah, this publication includes the full text of the document, with introduction and commentaries. A bibliography is included.