View your shopping cart.

Banner Message

SEARCH OUR INVENTORY OF THOUSANDS OF NEW & USED BOOKS
ALL USED BOOKS IN VERY GOOD TO EXCELLENT CONDITION -- MANY LIKE NEW!

Fiction

...With a Splash of Kay

...With a Splash of Kay

$16.95
More Info

Kay Mitchell finally did it-landed her dream job as a creative associate at LaToulle Relations! After spending a few postcollege years in New York City, Kay's student loan anxiety and time bartending at Lola's Bar and Lounge have finally paid off... or so she thought.


Two years into her role, she still hasn't seen a pay bump or feels she fits in with the glitz and glamour of it all. Staving off impostor syndrome might be easier if she could stand up to her competitive counterpart, Natasha, or afford a more lavish lifestyle. It doesn't help that dating New York City men is another roller coaster ride of its own.


At the same time, Kay's best friend and Lola's manager, Sisi, asks her to come back part-time. Strapped for cash, she says yes. Torn between her current reality and ambitious future, Kay's world is turned upside down by a potential promotion, playing middle woman between combative friends, and discovering her romantic desires.


Just on the cusp of career success and the miracle of finding the right relationship, Kay is confronted with tempting hookups, deceitful frenemies, and the pressure to make her vision of success a reality.

12-21 (USED)

12-21 (USED)

$9.99
More Info
From the co-author of the two-million copy mega-bestseller "The Rule of Four "comes a riveting thriller with a brilliant premise based on the 2012 apocalypse phenomenon--perfect for readers of Steve Berry, Preston and Child, and Dan Brown.
For decades, December 21, 2012, has been a touchstone for doomsayers worldwide. It is the date, they claim, when the ancient Maya calendar predicts the world will end.
In Los Angeles, two weeks before, all is calm. Dr. Gabriel Stanton takes his usual morning bike ride, drops off the dog with his ex-wife, and heads to the lab where he studies incurable prion diseases for the CDC. His first phone call is from a hospital resident who has an urgent case she thinks he needs to see. Meanwhile, Chel Manu, a Guatemalan American researcher at the Getty Museum, is interrupted by a desperate, unwelcome visitor from the black market antiquities trade who thrusts a duffel bag into her hands.
By the end of the day, Stanton, the foremost expert on some of the rarest infections in the world, is grappling with a patient whose every symptom confounds and terrifies him. And Chel, the brightest young star in the field of Maya studies, has possession of an illegal artifact that has miraculously survived the centuries intact: a priceless codex from a lost city of her ancestors. This extraordinary record, written in secret by a royal scribe, seems to hold the answer to her life's work and to one of history's great riddles: why the Maya kingdoms vanished overnight. Suddenly it seems that our own civilization might suffer this same fate.
With only days remaining until December 21, 2012, Stanton and Chel must join forces before time runs out.
Advance praise for "12.21"
" "
"Dustin Thomason, M.D., will invariably be compared to Michael Crichton, M.D., and "12.21" will be favorably compared to "The Andromeda Strain." Both authors have written first-rate medical thrillers, the kind of fact-based fiction that is "very" scary but also "very" entertaining. Thomason knows his stuff, and it shows on every page. I truly could not put this book down."--Nelson DeMille
"The most exciting novel of its kind since the days of Michael Crichton, "12.21" takes us from the frontiers of modern neuroscience to the riddles of ancient Maya texts, with nothing less than the future of our civilization at stake."--Vince Flynn
"A fast-moving tale . . . Thomason displays an impressive depth of knowledge of both science and the ancient Mayan way of life. Along the way, he skillfully ramps up the action, one notch at a time. A winning book."--"Kirkus Reviews"
"Fascinating, terrifying for its potential realism. I loved how tightly everything fit together. I had to keep reading."--Taylor Stevens, "New York Times" bestselling author of "The Informationist
"
"Fast, suspenseful . . . Michael Crichton fans will find a lot to like."--"Publishers Weekly"
14 (USED)

14 (USED)

$15.99
More Info
Padlocked doors. Strange light fixtures. Mutant cockroaches. There are some odd things about Nate's new apartment.

Chosen by Audible.com as the best sci-fi novel of 2012!

Padlocked doors. Strange light fixtures. Mutant cockroaches.

There are some odd things about Nate's new apartment.

Of course, he has other things on his mind. He hates his job. He has no money in the bank. No girlfriend. No plans for the future. So while his new home isn't perfect, it's livable. The rent is low, the property managers are friendly, and the odd little mysteries don't nag at him too much.

At least, not until he meets Mandy, his neighbor across the hall, and notices something unusual about her apartment. And Xela's apartment. And Tim's. And Veek's.

Because every room in this old Los Angeles brownstone has a mystery or two. Mysteries that stretch back over a hundred years. Some of them are in plain sight. Some are behind locked doors. And all together these mysteries could mean the end of Nate and his friends.

Or the end of everything...
"A riveting apocalyptic mystery in the style of LOST." --Craig DiLouie, author of THE INFECTION and THE KILLING FLOOR "A wholly original story that weaves together mystery and the apocalypse like a finely tuned band." --Evan Roy, Bricks of the Dead

158 Pound Marriage

158 Pound Marriage

$6.99
More Info
"Irving looks cunningly beyond the eye-catching gyrations of the mating dance to the morning-after implications."
--The Washington Post
The darker vision and sexual ambiguities of this erotic, ironic tale about a mé nage a quatre in a New England university town foreshadow those of The World According to Garp; but this very trim and precise novel is a marked departure from the author's generally robust, boisterous style. Though Mr. Irving's cool eye spares none of his foursome, he writes with genuine compassion for the sexual tests and illusions they perpetrate on each other; but the sexual intrigue between them demonstrates how even the kind can be ungenerous, and even the well-intentioned, destructive.
"One of the most remarkable things about John Irving's first three novels, viewed from the vantage of The World According to Garp, is that they can be read as one extended fictional enterprise. . . . The 158-Pound Marriage is as lean and concentrated as a mine shaft."
--Terrence Des Pres
17th Suspect

17th Suspect

$29.00
More Info
In this #1 NYT bestseller, Sergeant Lindsay Boxer puts her life on the line to protect San Francisco from a shrewd and unpredictable killer.
When a series of shootings exposes San Francisco to a mysterious killer, a reluctant woman decides to put her trust in Sergeant Lindsay Boxer. The confidential informant's tip leads Lindsay to a disturbing conclusion: something has gone horribly wrong inside the police department.
The hunt for the killer lures Lindsay out of her jurisdiction and impacts her in dangerous ways. She suffers unsettling medical symptoms, and her friends in the Women's Murder Club warn her against taking the crimes to heart. But with lives at stake, the detective can't help but follow the case into terrifying terrain.
A decorated officer, loving wife, devoted mother, and loyal friend, Lindsay has always acted with unwavering integrity. But now she is confronting a killer who is determined to undermine it all.
1984 (USED)

1984 (USED)

$3.99
More Info
1984 has come and gone, but George Orwell's prophetic, nightmare vision in 1949 of the world we were becoming is timelier than ever. "1984" is still the great modern classic "negative Utopia" - a startling original and haunting novel that creates an imaginary world that is completely convincing from the first sentence to the last four words. No one can deny this novel's power, its hold on the imagination of whole generations, or the power of its admonitions - a power that seems to grow, not lessen, with the passage of time.

2015 Pushcart Prize XXXIX: Best of the Small Presses (USED)

$4.99
More Info
50 Shades of Life, Love & Laughter; Reflections on Gratitude, Joy , Life's Oddities and a Few Complaints

50 Shades of Life, Love & Laughter; Reflections on Gratitude, Joy , Life's Oddities and a Few Complaints

$15.00
More Info

As Director of Communications and Program Planning for the Rhode Island Department of Elderly Affairs, Larry Grimaldi wrote more than 600 newspaper columns and feature articles growing older. The columns regularly appeared in the state's daily and weekly magazines. After retiring in 2015, he began his second career as a Lifestyle columnist for PrimeTime magazine. Fifty Shades of Life, Love & Laughter contains many of these columns.

This is Larry's first solo publication. He has also co-written Wandering Across America and Cooking with Mammie with his wife Kathy, and edited the Children's Book, The Adventures of Fanny Pack Ray and the Family Vacation, written by his son, Benjamin Grimaldi.

Larry and Kathy, his wife of 50 years, live in North Providence, Rhode Island.

80 Million Dollar Eyes (USED)

$10.00
More Info
The third book in a charming and heartfelt inspirational series for young readers, starring a young girl and her guardian angel. Amelia and Lily, her guardian angel, set out to help Grace, a girl so lonely that she is starting to take up with the wrong crowd, a group of teenage shoplifters.
A Calamity of Souls

A Calamity of Souls

$30.00
More Info
Set in the tumultuous year of 1968 in southern Virginia, a racially-charged murder case sets a duo of white and Black lawyers against a deeply unfair system as they work to defend their wrongfully-accused Black defendants in this courtroom drama from #1 New York Times bestselling author David Baldacci. 

Jack Lee is a white lawyer from Freeman County, Virginia, who has never done anything to push back against racism, until he decides to represent Jerome Washington, a Black man charged with brutally killing an elderly and wealthy white couple. Doubting his decision, Lee fears that his legal skills may not be enough to prevail in a case where the odds are already stacked against both him and his client. And he quickly finds himself out of his depth when he realizes that what is at stake is far greater than the outcome of a murder trial.

Desiree DuBose is a Black lawyer from Chicago who has devoted her life to furthering the causes of justice and equality for everyone. She comes to Freeman County and enters a fractious and unwieldy partnership with Lee in a legal battle against the best prosecutor in the Commonwealth. Yet DuBose is also aware that powerful outside forces are at work to blunt the victories achieved by the Civil Rights era.  

Lee and DuBose could not be more dissimilar. On their own, neither one can stop the prosecution's deliberate march towards a guilty verdict and the electric chair. But together, the pair fight for what once seemed impossible: a chance for a fair trial and true justice.

Over a decade in the writing, A Calamity of Souls breathes richly imagined and detailed life into a bygone era, taking the reader through a world that will seem both foreign and familiar.